Search glas

15-02-25 non-Regulatory

News release from Beijer Ref

Acquisition of RNA in Malaysia strengthens the expansion outside Europe

The Swedish refrigeration wholesale group, Beijer Ref AB, is acquiring all the shares in the refrigeration wholesale company, RNA Engineering & Trading, which has its head office located in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

RNA Engineering & Trading was established in 1975. The company reports sales of approximately SEK 45M. RNA is the leading refrigeration wholesaler in Malaysia and includes Danfoss, Emerson and Thermal-Matic among its important brands. The Malaysian market for commercial refrigeration is estimated to be worth nearly SEK 480M, with stable growth in past years of around 10 per cent per annum.

”The acquisition complements our existing operation in the region and strengthens our presence outside Europe. This is fully in line with our strategy”, says Per Bertland, CEO of Beijer Ref.

RNA Engineering & Trading is being acquired by Beijer Ref’s joint-venture company B Grimm in Thailand. The company will be integrated into Beijer Ref’s organisation and included in the company’s accounts from March 2015. The acquisition is expected to have a marginally positive effect of Beijer Ref’s net income in 2015.

RNA Engineering & Trading’s management will continue to take an active part in the company.

Malmö, 25 February 2015

Beijer Ref AB (publ)

For further information, please contact:

Per Bertland, CEO

Telephone +46 40-35 89 00

Mobile +46 705-98 13 73


Jonas Lindqvist, CFO

Telephone +46 40-35 89 00

Mobile +46 705-90 89 04

BEIJER REF AB is a technology-oriented trading Group which, through added-value products, offers its customers competitive solutions within refrigeration and climate control. Beijer Ref is one of the largest refrigeration wholesalers in the world, and is represented in Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Holland, Norway, Romania, Switzerland, Slovakia, Spain, United Kingdom, Sweden, the Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, South Africa, Mozambique, Zambia, Botswana, Namibia, Malaysia and Thailand.